People

This listing of Jornada staff includes LTER-affiliated employees from both the USDA-ARS and New Mexico State University, postdocs, students, and outside collaborators from a variety of organizations. A comprehensive list of USDA-ARS Jornada Experimental Range staff can be found on their website.

Lead PI

Debra Peters : Ecologist, USDA-ARS, Jornada Experimental Range

Debra Peters

Ecologist, USDA-ARS, Jornada Experimental Range

deb.peters@usda.gov

Executive committee PIs

Brandon Bestelmeyer : Research Leader, USDA-ARS, Jornada Experimental Range

Brandon Bestelmeyer

Research Leader, USDA-ARS, Jornada Experimental Range

brandon.bestelmeyer@usda.gov
Niall Hanan : Professor, Plant and Environmental Sciences, New Mexico State University

Niall Hanan

Professor, Plant and Environmental Sciences, New Mexico State University

nhanan@nmsu.edu
Greg Okin : Professor, University of California, Los Angeles, Dept. of Geography

Greg Okin

Professor, University of California, Los Angeles, Dept. of Geography

okin@ucla.edu
Osvaldo Sala : Regents’ Professor, Arizona State University

Osvaldo Sala

Regents’ Professor, Arizona State University

osvaldo.sala@asu.edu
Robert Schooley : Professor, Dept. of Natural Resources & Environmental Sciences, University of Illinois

Robert Schooley

Professor, Dept. of Natural Resources & Environmental Sciences, University of Illinois

schooley@illinois.edu
Enrique Vivoni : Professor, Arizona State University

Enrique Vivoni

Professor, Arizona State University

vivoni@asu.edu

Co-PIs

Steven Archer : Professor, School of Natural Resources and the Environment, University of Arizona

Steven Archer

Professor, School of Natural Resources and the Environment, University of Arizona

sarcher@email.arizona.edu
Stephanie Bestelmeyer : Executive Director, Asombro Institute for Science Education

Stephanie Bestelmeyer

Executive Director, Asombro Institute for Science Education

stephanie@asombro.org
Colby Brungard : Assistant Professor, Department of Plant and Environmental Sciences, NMSU

Colby Brungard

Assistant Professor, Department of Plant and Environmental Sciences, NMSU

cbrungard.jrn.lter@gmail.com
Ferran Garcia-Pichel : Dean of Natural Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, ASU

Ferran Garcia-Pichel

Dean of Natural Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, ASU

ferran@asu.edu
Jeff Herrick : Adjunct Faculty, Dept. of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, CU Boulder

Jeff Herrick

Adjunct Faculty, Dept. of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, CU Boulder

jeff.herrick@usda.gov
Curtis Monger : National Leader for Soil Survey Standards, USDA-NRCS, Natl Soil Survey Center

Curtis Monger

National Leader for Soil Survey Standards, USDA-NRCS, Natl Soil Survey Center

curtis.monger@usda.gov
Nicole Pietrasiak : Assistant Professor, New Mexico State University

Nicole Pietrasiak

Assistant Professor, New Mexico State University

drylandalgae@gmail.com
Craig Tweedie : Professor, Dept. of Biology & Environmental Science & Engineering., University of Texas at El Paso

Craig Tweedie

Professor, Dept. of Biology & Environmental Science & Engineering., University of Texas at El Paso

ctweedie@utep.edu

Research site manager

John Anderson : Research Site Manager, Jornada Basin LTER

John Anderson

Research Site Manager, Jornada Basin LTER

janderso@jornada-vmail.nmsu.edu

Project manager

Information manager

Gregory Maurer : Ecological Data Scientist and LTER Information Manager

Gregory Maurer

Ecological Data Scientist and LTER Information Manager

gmaurer.jrn.lter@gmail.com

Post-doctoral researchers

Erica Christensen : Post-Doctoral Research Ecologist

Erica Christensen

Post-Doctoral Research Ecologist

echriste@nmsu.edu
Kerrie Geil : Postdoctoral Fellow, USDA ARS Jornada

Kerrie Geil

Postdoctoral Fellow, USDA ARS Jornada

kerrie.geil@usda.gov
Laureano Gherardi : Postdoctoral Fellow, Arizona State University

Laureano Gherardi

Postdoctoral Fellow, Arizona State University

lgherar1@asu.edu
Lucas Heintzman : Postdoctoral Fellow, USDA ARS Jornada

Lucas Heintzman

Postdoctoral Fellow, USDA ARS Jornada

lucas.heintzman@usda.gov
Amy Hudson : Postdoctoral Fellow, USDA ARS Jornada

Amy Hudson

Postdoctoral Fellow, USDA ARS Jornada

ahudson.jrn.lter@gmail.com
John Humphreys : Postdoctoral Fellow, USDA ARS Jornada

John Humphreys

Postdoctoral Fellow, USDA ARS Jornada

john.humphreys@usda.gov
Wenjie Ji : Post-Doctoral Research Ecologist, New Mexico State University

Wenjie Ji

Post-Doctoral Research Ecologist, New Mexico State University

wenjieji@nmsu.edu
Marguerite Mauritz-Tozer : Research Assistant Professor, University of Texas El Paso

Marguerite Mauritz-Tozer

Research Assistant Professor, University of Texas El Paso

memauritz@utep.edu
Furong Niu : Post Doctoral Fellow, University of Arizona

Furong Niu

Post Doctoral Fellow, University of Arizona

fniu@email.arizona.edu
Suzy Stillman : Postdoctoral Fellow, USDA ARS Jornada

Suzy Stillman

Postdoctoral Fellow, USDA ARS Jornada

sstillman.jrn.lter@gmail.com
Sergio Vargas : Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Texas, El Paso

Sergio Vargas

Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Texas, El Paso

savargas@utep.edu
Katie Young : Postdoctoral Fellow, USDA ARS Jornada

Katie Young

Postdoctoral Fellow, USDA ARS Jornada

kiy761@nmsu.edu

Graduate students

Sherri Buerdsell : Graduate Student, New Mexico State University

Sherri Buerdsell

Graduate Student, New Mexico State University

sherri@nmsu.edu
Catherine Cort : Graduate Student, University of Texas-El Paso

Catherine Cort

Graduate Student, University of Texas-El Paso

cecort@miners.utep.edu
Courtney Currier : Graduate Student, Arizona State University

Courtney Currier

Graduate Student, Arizona State University

cmcurrie@asu.edu
Marisol Dominguez : Graduate Student, University of Texas-El Paso

Marisol Dominguez

Graduate Student, University of Texas-El Paso

mdominguez31@miners.utep.edu
Stephen Escarzaga : Graduate Student, University of Texas, El Paso

Stephen Escarzaga

Graduate Student, University of Texas, El Paso

smescarzaga@utep.edu
Eric Escoto : Graduate Student, Arizona State University

Eric Escoto

Graduate Student, Arizona State University

eric.escoto@asu.edu
Michael Fischella : Graduate Student, University of California, Los Angeles

Michael Fischella

Graduate Student, University of California, Los Angeles

mfischella@g.ucla.edu
Alejandra Flores : Graduate student, University of Texas-El Paso

Alejandra Flores

Graduate student, University of Texas-El Paso

aflores84@miners.utep.edu
Muhammad Hanggito : Graduate Student, University of Texas, El Paso

Muhammad Hanggito

Graduate Student, University of Texas, El Paso

mshanggito@miners.utep.edu
Mikaela Hoellrich : Graduate Student, New Mexico State University

Mikaela Hoellrich

Graduate Student, New Mexico State University

mikaela.hoellrich@nmsu.edu
Samuel Jordan : Graduate Student, Arizona State University

Samuel Jordan

Graduate Student, Arizona State University

sam.jordan@asu.edu
Zachary Keller : Graduate Student, Arizona State University

Zachary Keller

Graduate Student, Arizona State University

ztkeller@asu.edu
Brianna Lind : Graduate Student, New Mexico State University

Brianna Lind

Graduate Student, New Mexico State University

lind@nmsu.edu
Alexander Naylor : Graduate Student, University of California, Los Angeles

Alexander Naylor

Graduate Student, University of California, Los Angeles

aknaylor@ucla.edu
Corey Nelson : Graduate Student, Arizona State University

Corey Nelson

Graduate Student, Arizona State University

cnelso22@asu.edu
Avishesh Neupane : Graduate Student, University of California, Los Angeles

Avishesh Neupane

Graduate Student, University of California, Los Angeles

aneupane@ucla.edu
Ifeanyi Nwigboji : Graduate Student, University of Texas, El Paso

Ifeanyi Nwigboji

Graduate Student, University of Texas, El Paso

ihnwigboji@miners.utep.edu
Kamal Nyaupane : Graduate Student, University of Texas, El Paso

Kamal Nyaupane

Graduate Student, University of Texas, El Paso

knyaupane@miners.utep.edu
Eli Perez-Ruiz : Graduate Student, Arizona State University

Eli Perez-Ruiz

Graduate Student, Arizona State University

eperezru@asu.edu
Julie Rakes : Graduate Student, Arizona State University

Julie Rakes

Graduate Student, Arizona State University

jabethan@asu.edu
Gesuri Ramirez : Graduate Student, University of Texas, El Paso

Gesuri Ramirez

Graduate Student, University of Texas, El Paso

gramirez12@utep.edu
Molly Reichenborn : Graduate Student, New Mexico State University

Molly Reichenborn

Graduate Student, New Mexico State University

mreichen@nmsu.edu
Jesus Ochoa Rivero : Graduate Student, University of Texas-El Paso

Jesus Ochoa Rivero

Graduate Student, University of Texas-El Paso

jochoarivero@gmail.com
Kathleen Schaeffer : Graduate Student, University of Texas-El Paso

Kathleen Schaeffer

Graduate Student, University of Texas-El Paso

keschaeffer@miners.utep.edu
Hayden Thompson : Graduate Student, University of Texas-El Paso

Hayden Thompson

Graduate Student, University of Texas-El Paso

hethompson2@miners.utep.edu
Alfredo Dagda Torres : Graduate Student, University of Texas-El Paso

Alfredo Dagda Torres

Graduate Student, University of Texas-El Paso

adagdatorr@miners.utep.edu
Caroline Toth : Graduate Student, New Mexico State University

Caroline Toth

Graduate Student, New Mexico State University

ctoth@nsmu.edu
Tyler Turk : Graduate Student, New Mexico State University

Tyler Turk

Graduate Student, New Mexico State University

tturk@nsmu.edu
Orlando Ramirez Valle : Graduate Student, University of Texas-El Paso

Orlando Ramirez Valle

Graduate Student, University of Texas-El Paso

oramirezva@miners.utep.edu
Christopher Vito : Graduate Student, Arizona State University

Christopher Vito

Graduate Student, Arizona State University

cvito@asu.edu
Casey Wagnon : Graduate Student, University of Illinois

Casey Wagnon

Graduate Student, University of Illinois

cwagnon2@illinois.edu
Luis Weber-Grullon : Graduate Student, Arizona State University

Luis Weber-Grullon

Graduate Student, Arizona State University

luis.weber@asu.edu
Robert Wojcikiewicz : Graduate Student, New Mexico State University

Robert Wojcikiewicz

Graduate Student, New Mexico State University

rwojciki@nmsu.edu
Junzhe Zhang : Graduate Student, University of California, Los Angeles

Junzhe Zhang

Graduate Student, University of California, Los Angeles

zhangjunzhe8868@ucla.edu

Undergraduate students

Enrique Anguiano Chavez : Undergraduate, University of Texas, El Paso

Enrique Anguiano Chavez

Undergraduate, University of Texas, El Paso

eanguianochavez@miners.utep.edu
Daniel Cruz : Undergraduate, University of Texas, El Paso

Daniel Cruz

Undergraduate, University of Texas, El Paso

djcruz@miners.utep.edu
Mariela Estrada : Undergraduate, New Mexico State University

Mariela Estrada

Undergraduate, New Mexico State University

estradamar1ela90@gmail.com
Samuel Smith : Undergraduate Student

Samuel Smith

Undergraduate Student

smsmith@lclark.edu
Skyler Stinson : Undergraduate, New Mexico State University

Skyler Stinson

Undergraduate, New Mexico State University

skyler98@nmsu.edu

Professional staff

Dylan Burruss : Research Associate Professor,

Dylan Burruss

Research Associate Professor,

dylanb@nmsu.edu
Ericha Courtright : Information Technology Specialist

Ericha Courtright

Information Technology Specialist

ericha@nmsu.edu
Andrew Dominguez : Lab Tech/Former Graduate Student, New Mexico State University

Andrew Dominguez

Lab Tech/Former Graduate Student, New Mexico State University

ajd18@nmsu.edu
Stephen Doucette-Riise : Lab Manager, Arizona State University

Stephen Doucette-Riise

Lab Manager, Arizona State University

sdoucet1@asu.edu
Bernice Gamboa : Program Assistant, USDA-ARS

Bernice Gamboa

Program Assistant, USDA-ARS

bernice.gamboa@usda.gov
Charlene Gamboa : Program Specialist, SR

Charlene Gamboa

Program Specialist, SR

charhrsn@nmsu.edu
Seth Hall : Research Assistant, Jornada Experimental Range

Seth Hall

Research Assistant, Jornada Experimental Range

sethahall08@gmail.com
Haitao Huang : Computer Specialist

Haitao Huang

Computer Specialist

haitao@nmsu.edu
Darren James : Statistician, USDA-ARS

Darren James

Statistician, USDA-ARS

darren.james@usda.gov
Conrad Nelson : Research Assistant, Jornada Experimental Range

Conrad Nelson

Research Assistant, Jornada Experimental Range

cwnelson@nmsu.edu
Haneen Omari : Database Analyst

Haneen Omari

Database Analyst

hanomari@nmsu.edu
Geovany Ramirez : Research Associate Professor, Jornada Experimental Range, New Mexico State University

Geovany Ramirez

Research Associate Professor, Jornada Experimental Range, New Mexico State University

georam@nmsu.edu
Heather Savoy : Computational Biologist, USDA-ARS-Jornada Experimental Range

Heather Savoy

Computational Biologist, USDA-ARS-Jornada Experimental Range

heather.savoy@usda.gov
Scott Schrader : Physical Scientist (GIS Specialist), USDA-ARS

Scott Schrader

Physical Scientist (GIS Specialist), USDA-ARS

scott.schrader@usda.gov

Collaborators

Jayne Belnap : Research Ecologist,USGS Canyonlands Research Station

Jayne Belnap

Research Ecologist,USGS Canyonlands Research Station

jayne_belnap@usgs.gov
Joel Brown : Rangeland Ecologist, USDA-NRCS, Jornada Experimental Range

Joel Brown

Rangeland Ecologist, USDA-NRCS, Jornada Experimental Range

Joel.Brown@usda.gov
Dawn Browning : Research Ecologist, USDA-ARS, Jornada Experimental Range

Dawn Browning

Research Ecologist, USDA-ARS, Jornada Experimental Range

dawn.browning@usda.gov
Andres Cibils : Associate Professor of Range Science, New Mexico State University

Andres Cibils

Associate Professor of Range Science, New Mexico State University

acibils@nmsu.edu
Anthony Darrouzet-Nardi : Assistant Professor, University of Texas, El Paso

Anthony Darrouzet-Nardi

Assistant Professor, University of Texas, El Paso

ajdarrouzetnardi@utep.edu
Mike Duniway : USGS Canyonlands Research Station

Mike Duniway

USGS Canyonlands Research Station

mduniway@usgs.gov
Emile Elias : Research Hydrologist, USDA-ARS, Jornada Experimental Range

Emile Elias

Research Hydrologist, USDA-ARS, Jornada Experimental Range

emile.elias@usda.gov
Rick Estell : Research Animal Scientist, USDA-ARS, Jornada Experimental Range

Rick Estell

Research Animal Scientist, USDA-ARS, Jornada Experimental Range

rick.estell@usda.gov
Akasha Faist : Assistant Professor, New Mexico State University

Akasha Faist

Assistant Professor, New Mexico State University

afaist@nmsu.edu
Hugo Gutierrez : Assistant Professor, University of Texas, El Paso

Hugo Gutierrez

Assistant Professor, University of Texas, El Paso

hagutierrez@utep.edu
Laura Huenneke : Vice President for Research, Northern Arizona University

Laura Huenneke

Vice President for Research, Northern Arizona University

laura.huenneke@nau.edu
Jeff Kelly : Associate Professor of Zoology and Heritage Zoologist, Oklahoma Biological Survey, University of Oklahoma

Jeff Kelly

Associate Professor of Zoology and Heritage Zoologist, Oklahoma Biological Survey, University of Oklahoma

jkelly@ou.edu
Erik Lehnhoff : Collaborator, New Mexico State University

Erik Lehnhoff

Collaborator, New Mexico State University

lehnhoff@nmsu.edu
Junran Li : University of Tulsa

Junran Li

University of Tulsa

junran@utulsa.edu
Caiti Steele : USDA-ARS, Jornada Experimental Range

Caiti Steele

USDA-ARS, Jornada Experimental Range

caiti@nmsu.edu
Nicholas Webb : Physical Scientist

Nicholas Webb

Physical Scientist

nwebb@nmsu.edu
Walt Whitford : New Mexico State University

Walt Whitford

New Mexico State University

wawhitfo@nmsu.edu